One hundred years ago, Grossmont High School’s granite façade “Castle” was completed. Among the oldest high schools in San Diego County, amazingly, Grossmont is the only school to have preserved its original school, which was used by its students until 2006, when it became entirely the GUHSD office.
In 1920 Colonel Ed Fletcher gave most of the land for the school for a $10 fee, along with several lots donated by James and Mary Murray. The architect of the building was T. C. Kistner; the contractor was N.H. Beer.
During its two-year construction, GUHS students attended school at the now closed Riverview HS campus in Lakeside. In September 25, 1922, students first attended classes at Grossmont in the “Castle”. However, the building wasn’t completed until January 13, 1923.
The original Minutes of the Board of Trustees of Grossmont Union High School: August 14, 1920-Dec. 5, 1928, reveal fascinating details of the cost of the building’s construction:
July 21, 1921:
Read more …November 2022 - The Castle's 100th Anniversary